ONLY WHAT YOU DO FOR CHRIST WILL LAST- written by Isaac Gabriel Gutierrez

Jesus_hugs_in_heaven

Dedicated in memory of David A. Martinez 1967-2014, my brother in Christ and a great friend.  I will see you again in Heaven’s glory when my work for the Lord is done.  May your zeal for Christ inspire others to follow your example!

Only what you do for Christ will last. What does that mean to you?  This is a puzzling statement that is worth investigating and unveiling the mystery of its content. To me signifies what you do for Christ here while we live will determine your eternal destiny in the hereafter.

It doesn’t matter how much material things you possess, money or wealth, the bottom line is, are you fulfilling a life of purpose as citizen of the  Kingdom of God? You will be amazed of how many have difficulty answering that question because they only live for the here and now. They have yet to realize that as ambassadors of Christ we are commissioned to represent Him.

Our society is so guilty of taken life for granted. We waste our time doing things that have no eternal value. We are not promised tomorrow and only what you do for Christ will last.

Two weeks ago,  I came face to face with this reality when I learned

that my friend, David A. Martinez was killed instantly in a car accident. The incident made the news but I didn’t learn of it until the next day.

It was hard for me to accept the news and that it was actually him. I kept praying that it was somebody else. When they finally identified that it was David, it struck me hard. How could this be?

I had just seen David and his family months earlier at a party celebration at my house.

20130215_215605I have so  many great memories of David Martinez .I  can remember the times when I invited Him and the  family to our home of many occasions. He was there when we dedicated our home, many birthdays of friends, special days like friendship day, etc. He was the life of the party and fun to be around.

He was there to pray and encourage me when I opened my snow cone business last year, he encouraged me greatly in our video ministry, and Men’s ministry.

David didn’t waste time with nonsense posts on Face book. He used it to evangelize and warn people about the dangers of the world. David A. Martinez was a worshiper and loved to dance before the Lord.  His joy and laughter was contagious. David was example of a man of purpose. He lived to tell others about Jesus.  He was a soul winner. One thing David understood that only what you do for Christ will last.

On Saturday morning February 1st of this year I attended his celebration service at Calvary Cathedral International in Fort Worth, Texas. It was a wonderful service. What a testimony of a man remembered and celebrated because His heart for God, people, and purpose. I considered it a tremendous honor to be among the pall-bearers at that service. The entire service touched me in so many ways. I will never forget it as long as I live.

These past two weeks have greatly motivated me to rethink life. I made a determination that I will not waste another day in fulfilling my purpose and eternal destiny. I encourage you to stop wasting precious time with things that have no eternal value. What will they say about you at your funeral service?  Most of us don’t like to talk about death but it is coming to us soon or later.

As a minister I’ve spoken at many funeral services where I knew the departed had made Heaven their home. In fact, I was given the opportunity to pray with them days or even hours before they left this earth. What joy to know that they are also with David in the great cloud of witnesses. (Hebrew 12:1)

James 4:14 says that our life is like a vapor. A vapor can be seen for short amount of time then it quickly vanishes from sight.  We must be careful of how we spend our lives. We are responsible of what we do with that time allotted. How quickly the days, hours, and years pass by. Whatever you do for Christ, do it now.!

David finished his Kingdom mission and has received his reward. Now it’s our turn to continue the journey.  Remember only what you do for Christ for last for all eternity.

So today, make that same decision that David made; to stand for Jesus Christ. We must speak the truth, tell the world about Jesus, and pull people out of the kingdom of darkness.

When’s it all been said and done what kind of legacy will you leave behind?  I pray that mine will be remembered for all eternity! Will yours? David lived his life as an ambassador of Christ.  He finished his race. 

jesus_kingI have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Finally, there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give me on that Day, and not to me only but also to all who have loved His appearing.  2 Timothy 4:7-8

watch this video on the beauty of the Celestial City

